Home > Uncategorized > 11’09”01 September 11 – Mexico

11’09”01 September 11 – Mexico

This is a short film made by Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu. It featured in a collection of short films from around the world, by some `acclaimed international film directors.

I am thinking of using a similar ploy in my documentary. There’s something powerful about just seeing the blank screen, awaiting to see something. The clever use of sound being a bit muffled to begin with. The use radio news, and people’s reactions is something I think could work quite well for my own documentary.

The reversal of no sound during the clip where the tower collapses, was also a brilliant choice. The images said everything, and sound wasn’t needed. It made me absorb the image more, than if sound would have been used.

 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Ken Fero
    August 5, 2010 at 9:10 pm

    Ranjeet

    Part of your hand in of the final project needs to be a 5000 word written piece. We can accept this in the form of your development blog and final blogs which includes all the work you have done on the tracking the project, development, problems, influences, resolution etc. If you are already writing up the progress of your project on the blog then you should be able to complete this quite easily. Its important that you keep writing up all your thoughts and project development on a regular basis. All the written work is due on your blog as a final submission.

    Let me know if you need more explanation on this and I hope your project is progressing well.

    Ken

  2. Ken Fero
    August 17, 2010 at 7:30 am

    Hello Ranjeet

    How is your project is progressing?

    The absolute final date for the Final Project artifact and the supporting blog/text documenting the development and realisation of your project is the 23rd of September.

    Nick would like to make sure that all of the projects are complete apart from a few minor changes by the 16th of September. We will be reviewing the projects on the 16th of September in the base room in ICE from 11am onwards.

    Ken

    • August 17, 2010 at 7:32 pm

      Hello Ken

      Hope you are keeping well. Thanks for notifying me with the deadline dates.

      This week has been a disaster. I was supposed to be filming, but everything has been cancelled. Two of my main characters have decided not to take part in the documentary.

      Gursharan Singh, who was in the temple when during the attacks, has pulled out. He’s afraid to speak out about it, and furthermore he’s now gone to Italy. He was going to be the core of my documentary.

      Also I had an elderly woman who lost her son, who I was supposed to be filming today. I met her on Friday to confirm, but she is too emotionally distraught.

      This has really thrown me off course, and I really wasn’t expecting this to happen from both of them.

      I’m going to have to re-evaluate a few things. I’ll update this on my blog

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

