Home > Uncategorized > Nick Broomfield’s BIGGIE and TUPAC

Nick Broomfield’s BIGGIE and TUPAC

I recently watched Biggie & Tupac by Nick Broomfield, as apart of my research. It was not directly apart of the research content, but more about the treatment of the documentary. I don’t feel that I like this participatory style of Nick Broomfield, which most film-makers find quite appealing.

Sometimes it feels that it’s self indulgent, and he (Nick) appears in the documentary as a character too. The film became more about him, and the problems he faced whilst making the documentary, rather than about the content itself. It’s ok to include problems you faced, but at times it gets in the way of the narrative.

If you watch My Architect, there’s a reason for Nathaniel Khan being apart of his story, and he’s an integral character. I just feel that Nick Broomfield’s inclusion is too forced.

Although all of Nick’s subject’s are quite interesting, whether it’s the Aileen life and death of a serial killer, kurt and courtney, or Biggie and Tupac, they have a good appeal, and interesting subject material.

I don’t like Nick’s voice as the narrator, his voice is slow, and it doesn’t have a strong effect. It’s quite lethargic. At times there was voice over narration, when it didn’t need to be. This is because it didn’t add to what was being seen. Most of the time, it just showed you what’s already on screen. For example there’s an instance where they show a scene, where Tupac was doing an impersonation of his favourite movie character, Scarface. They didn’t need to tell us this as well as show us.

The length of the film was too long. The documentary interesting, and still had some good content about the conspiracy of how the Police Department were involved in the murders of both rap-stars.

What I can take from this documentary is that I perhaps don’t want to use a participatory treatment for it. This is because, I don’t want to interfere in the story, and I’m not a character integral to the story.

Also, I’m not going to be using my own voice for the narration. During the making of the WEDLOCK documentary, for which I reluctantly did the voice over narration. I had done it thinking a deep voice is sufficient enough, however it’s not. You need to have a crisp sound, and direct voice. It shouldn’t feel lethargic, as that can certainly spoil it’s intended effect.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. July 7, 2010 at 9:27 pm

    Apart from that he throws obstacles in his own path and expects empathy when he flounders. The icing is sweet but the cake is rotten.

  2. July 15, 2010 at 6:25 am

    Hello Ranjeet

    I am supervising your final project. Please continue to keep me informed as to the progress of your work by posting your thoughts, developments and ideas on your blog on a regular basis.

    So far it looks like a very interesting idea. Can you tell me what is the current progress of your work urgently please. I have some questions for you:
    What is the shooting style of the film
    Duration of the film
    What is the content video and audio

    If you cannot post on your blog for any reason it is important that you email me.

    You can also Skype me at migrantmedia

    I hope to hear from you soon.

    All the best

    Ken Fero

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

